High Value Health Care

Sign up for a quick primer on medical bill protections

Sign up for one of five webinars to learn how to use your No Surprises Act protections. Important rights for people with and without health insurance.

Health care

Learn about medical bill rights and protections using the No Surprises Act
Sign up today for  one of these important webinars. 30-45 minute Webinar with Q&A

The Centers of Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is partnering with PIRG (the Public Interest Research Group) to host a short overview of new patient protections and rights under the No Surprises Act. This important law offers important medical bill protections to people with and without health insurance.

Who should attend: nonprofits; employers and human resources personnel; faith leaders; community, business and civic leaders; local, state and federal legislative and constituent staff; patient organizations; social services and financial assistance programs; & anyone who wants to help family/friends with their medical bills.

 When? The webinar will be held five times in September. We encourage you to attend the one hosted by your CMS region, but you are welcome to select any date/time that works for you.

Accessibility: ASL interpreters will be on all five calls. Spanish language interpretation will be available on Sept 21 at 10am ET.

Date

Time

CMS Regions

States

Thursday, Sept. 14th

Register here for this webinar.

12:00-12:45 PM Eastern

10:00- 10:45 AM Mountain

9:00- 9:45 AM Pacific

8:00- 8:45 AM Alaskan

6:00- 6:45 AM Hawaiian

Region 9

AZ, CA, HI, NV

Region 10

AK, ID, OR, WA

Thursday, Sept. 14th

Register here for this webinar.

1:00-1:45 PM Eastern

12:00- 12:45 PM Central

Region 3

DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, WV

Region 4

AL, GA, FL, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN

Wednesday, Sept. 20th

Register here for this webinar.

3:30- 4:15 PM Eastern

2:30- 3:15 PM Central

1:30- 2:15 PM Mountain

Region 7

IA, KS, MO, NE

Region 8

CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY

Thursday, Sept. 21st

Register here for this webinar.

10:00- 10:45 AM Eastern

11:00- 11:45 AM Atlantic

Region 1

CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT

Region 2

NJ, NY, PR

Thursday, Sept. 21st

Register here for this webinar.

12:00-12:45 PM Eastern

11:00- 11:45 AM Central

10:00- 10:45 AM Mountain

Region 5

IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI

Region 6

AR, LA, NM, OK, TX

Why should you attend: The No Surprises Act provides both insured and uninsured people with important rights and protections relating to medical bills. We’ll share how to use the new CMS Medical Bill Rights website and answer your questions. You’ll learn:

  •  how uninsured people can get a Good Faith Estimate and prevent over-charges
  • when the new law prohibits certain out-of-network providers from sending a surprise bill
  •  how to use the “action plan” tool that helps patients exercise their rights and find a resolution if they receive an unexpected medical bill
  •  how to submit complaints or get answers at the No Surprises Help Desk
  • and more!
See the Campaign
Topics
Updates

Show More

staff | TPIN

Donate to help keep plastic nurdles out of our waterways

Plastic waste is turning up everywhere. Will you donate to our Fiscal Year-End Drive to help move beyond plastic?

Donate