What’s next for toxic “forever chemicals”

Photo courtesy of Executive Office of the Governor, CC BY-ND 3.0

The state Senate and House of Delegates voted unanimously to pass the George “Walter” Taylor Act to restrict the use and disposal of toxic PFAS chemicals. Del. Sara Love (D-Montgomery) and Sen. Sarah Elfreth (D-Anne Arundel) sponsored the bill. On April 21, we joined Gov. Hogan, House and Senate Leadership, the bill sponsors, Secretary Ben Grumbles, the Professional Firefighters of Maryland and the family of George “Walter” Taylor as Gov. Hogan signed it into law.

The new law is a huge step forward in protecting Marylanders from exposure to these toxic chemicals, but there is much more work to be done to address Maryland’s PFAS problem.

The Maryland Department of Environment, Gov. Hogan and whoever takes his place need rigorous testing and remediation plans for PFAS. This week we published our reccomended four-pronged approach to dealing with PFAS contamination in Maryland Matters. You can read it here.


Show More